‘27’ TILL I DIE?

Humans always had a tendency of finding so called hidden meanings in almost everything; including numbers. Be it a curse, a foretold shortcoming, a warning or in some cases a sign board saying ‘good fortune up ahead’, we have this desperate need to connect one incident to another; to rationalize and bring meaning to some things that should rather be left a mystery. The 27 Club is no exception.

For those who don’t know of ‘The 27 Club’, it is a club for all those famed celebrities who died at the age of 27. At first, it may seem like a really radical thought; at least, I know my first thought was “DAMN. Even after they’re dead, they still party harder than everyone!” but then I got to thinking, and that’s when I realized this isn’t right.

Even though most of you would say that you aren’t affected by this, most teenagers are. Some end up getting scared of that age; as if fearing any normal birthday of yours wasn’t bad enough. Others start romanticizing the idea of dying at the age of 27 and becoming one of the 27’s. The influences are in no way good. We live in a world where children, mind you I said children, cut themselves just to run-away from their current down-road spirals. This becomes just another idea seeded slowly into their head.

However honorable the intentions were, of whoever came up with this idea was, nothing good came out of it. No one is cursed to die at any particular age. Death comes and death goes; it’s just like time, it waits for no one. You aren’t cursed if you die at a certain age that other people happened to die at. In this day and age that we live in, 27 is a very common age to die, and being a star won’t get you an extra 5 or 10 years in your lifespan.

If you were to ask me right now, ‘Won’t writing this article have a negative impact?’ I’d say, indeed it would. Not everyone would agree to what I say, and I would only be popularizing the idea of 27, but knowing that I have said what I have to say on the matter, hopefully this message reaches a few.

So, as a closing note till next time, I’d like to leave you guys with a rather clichéd and cheesy, yet apt line from Nickelback,
‘Each day’s a gift and not a given right.’

About Alysa Nair

Hey there! http://about.me/alysa_nair
This entry was posted in Articles, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

